Hong Kong Storm Warning

UPDATE 2: the video got a great review from Coconuts Hong Kong! More after the break

If you’ll excuse the naked self-promotion, Hong Kong Storm Warning got a great write-up from the folks at Coconuts Hong Kong.

This is my favourite part:

From gorgeous ink-soaked cloud shots of Macau from the air, to a moody Star Ferry crossing and people battling with umbrellas while queuing in the rain, the under-siege Hong Kong seen here is both dramatic and beautiful.

I couldn’t have put it better myself. Thank you!

UPDATED version, now with noise reduction and sharpening. This does make some banding apparent in the Vimeo stream though, so I’ve also made it downloadable.

Two journeys, by plane into Macau, the ferry to Hong Kong, as the storm clouds gather.

The G6 continues to surprise me; it’s a beautifully detailed image, even in twilight and pouring rain.

Here's a still taken with the same camera settings. ISO 160, 1/50, f 1.8 (I wonder why I didn't have the lens wide open?)
Here’s a still taken with the same camera settings. ISO 160, 1/50, f 1.8 (I wonder why I didn’t have the lens wide open?)

Music: Rose from Atmostra III

Leave a Reply

